Skip to main content

Announcements in Rooms

What's an Announcement?

An announcement is a one-way push of information to every student and guardian in your Room.

Announcements are delivered to students and guardians as a post on the Home Stream, and most importantly, a notification that they will receive directly on their phone.


Global Announcements

Upon logging into Connect, you will see a Feed that presents recent Announcements from your associated Rooms. Each post includes the option to translate and the specific Room where the Announcement was published.

Defaults to:

  • All Connect rooms (that you are a part of)

  • All Posts

but can be filtered to include only:

  • Individual room by room views

  • Unread Only



How to create an announcement

To create an announcement, click on the Announcement tab at the top of the Stream. An announcement composition area will appear, allowing you to type out an announcement, format it, and include external links within the announcement.

Sharing files, photos, and links in announcements

While creating an announcement, you can upload up to ten files, and up to ten different links.

When adding a photo to your announcement, you will need to fill out the Alt Text field that appears. Alt text is required in order to maintain ADA compliance and ensure that users with visual impairments can fully use Connect.

Posting announcements to multiple classes

If you have multiple classes or sections, you may have an announcement that needs posted to more than one Room. You can select additional Rooms from the 'Copy post to other Rooms' drop down menu. Your announcement will be published to each selected Room.

Scheduling, Editing, and Duplicating an announcement

To schedule an announcement to be sent at a future date, enable to 'Schedule Post' toggle. In the popup that appears select the date and time you want the announcement to be sent out.

To edit a scheduled announcement:

Click the 'Current' dropdown at the top of your Feed and select 'Scheduled'. This will filter your view to scheduled announcements that have not yet been published. Hover your mouse over the announcement and the three dots ... will appear in the top right corner. Clicking into this menu will reveal options to edit, duplicate, or delete the announcement.


Read Receipts

In Connect, it is possible to discern who in your Room has seen your announcement.

Click the purple Seen by ____ option underneath your announcement in order to view the Insights menu that indicates who has or has not seen your announcement. You will see each participant in the Room with one of the following indicators:

  • An open eye: The user has viewed the announcement

  • An eye with a line through it: The user has not viewed the announcement

  • "Inactive"/"Pending": This user has not logged in yet (and has not viewed the announcement)

Did this answer your question?